top of page
  • Writer's pictureStarr M.

F*ck Your Box : A conversation on sexual liberation through the eyes of women of color.

In celebration of Women's History Month and Black Women's History Month for the months of March and April, we decided to discuss the idea of sexual liberation through the eyes of women of color. We want to discuss the problems that society has receiving and fully accepting sexually liberated individuals who don't fit into the social norm. Anomalous' EIC Starr McClinton had the opportunity to discuss this concept with Boston based photographer Tyahra Angus. Here, she will discuss her personal thoughts and experiences with the concept of sexual liberation in regards to women of color as well as what it means to be on the outskirts of the social normative box.




Tyahra Angus, shot by Saadia Naadira/ @shotbysaad .

Q. What does sexual liberation mean to you? 


No guilt. No feeling dirty or wrong. No shame. 

The shame is what makes folks like me, Black pansexuals, stay closeted. 

Saying you are not just attracted to the body is still a taboo, though times are a-changing. 

Limits were affixed to my body as soon as I was born, you share this part of my story. Pretty early, maybe first grade, I realized that I was attracted to not only the opposite gender/sex but to anyone in between but (poorly) hid my curiosity. Around junior high school in 2008-9, I wanted to be visible and proud in my identity; a nameless reminder to encourage others to do the same. 

In simple words, being me is not dirty or wrong, sexual liberation is power.


Q. Any advice about embracing your sexual liberation?


Last week, month, year when you thought about the future you were thinking about today. Decide for yourself what your future looks like. I say to myself, “what the future has for me is all I’m really here to see.” Try to interact with folks and your body like you already know your future, and free yourself of the burden of “What if?", the guilt of “Should I?”, or shame of “Why not?” Do for you.


“RoyalHoneyAbstract” 2019 Muses: Arielle Gray and CaianaNyrie. Shot by Tyahra Angus/@afrocentered.


Q. What are difficulties, if any, that you face in society as a sexually liberated woman, as well as in black & brown spaces?


An opinion: “that gay shit = that white shit.” To that I say, go see the world, suck a dick, and be somebody.  Distant relatives on my timeline / news feed right now posting publicly and adamantly about conspiracies that the government conspires to emasculate “our” men by poisoning our drinking water with the big ‘Gay’ to destabilize our house holds.

Do you see this changing the way I approach my love life and sexual exploration? Do you see this affecting any queer person to stop loving and fucking who they want? To the first question, hell no, but to the second question is an overwhelming yes. Conversion therapy exists, and the folks receiving that treatment have heard that their sexual identity was wrong, dirty, that their desires were unthinkable and blasphemous. To them, being “normal” is the goal, and normal historically is straight, white, and thin. I am none of those things, so why fit into a box that was never made for you? No fear, shame, or guilt. You can also find that by embracing your identities and finding a tribe of people who accept you for not only your confidence but for your bravery. No one said it would be easy, but it damn sure is brave.



bottom of page